Screening at library draws crowd of GVSU students

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

GE DIGITAL CAMERAThe documentary was shown at the Mary Idema Pew Library, on the campus of Grand Valley State University, on September 29.  Attendance was outstanding as 85 of the 88 available seats were filled, primarily by GVSU undergraduate students.  The event was sponsored by the good people at   GHACF_ID_v2013_RGB_72dpi_3c

Here is what some of the students had to say about the film:

  • “I talked my best friend into coming with me who is my fraternity’s philanthropy chair, and we benefitted from it a lot. The thing that stuck out the most to me was with the global soap project.  The program’s leader made the quote of “make it a simple problem & find the simple solution.” I feel like in our society today we look at the big picture and use the lame excuse of “I can ‘t make a difference,” when in reality you can make the biggest difference on your own. Over all it was a touching film that hasn’t recieved the recognition it deserves, but I believe it soon will with a few steps in the right direction.” – Jeffrey B., undergraduate student at Grand Valley State University
  • “Monday, I attended the What is Philanthropy? movie. It was very interesting to see all of the different kinds of philanthropy around the United States. I thought it was cool how he was able to interview a broad range of people, from politicians, to executive directors, to founders of organizations, to people walking down the street. It inspired me to continue on my nonprofit path, so once I graduate, I can continue to use my talents and help others. I am glad I went to see the movie.” – Jennifer L., undergraduate student at Grand Valley State University
This entry was posted in Film. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

